Being Organised Part 1

I’m afraid to say that as a display, my sewing space is never particularly tidy, especially in the lead up to a convention. But considering my last con was over 3 months ago, I hardly have an excuse for why, up until last week, it was still a mess!
I’m not going to embarrass myself by showing you before and after photos, in fact, I won’t even show you the after photos because it’s not quite there yet (never fear, a tour of my small sewing space will be coming in the next few months, assuming I can keep it tidy!). What I will show you however is the main organisation of this space.

I bought these draws from Argos last year, and okay, they’re not that exciting to look at. They’re a wooden frame with a fabric covering and fabric draws – though the draws do have a cardboard base, small victories – so they’re admittedly not the most sturdy piece of furniture. Nonetheless, the serve the purpose here as they hold most of my stuff, and most importantly, fit in the limited space I have!
Previously, the draws were a bit of a mess. Things shoved in after I’d finished with them and pulled out hastily again, messing up any sense of order there may have been. I even had a large plastic box and all manner of smaller boxes and bags, filled with things that wouldn’t fit in. Through the power of actually bothering to be organised, I now don’t have stuff littering the floor and everything fits into the draws instead!

The organisation goes like this.

Top draw has all of my current projects in, as in theory they are the bits I want to get to most often. I’m trying to make enough of the WIP bags to store all the in progress cosplays I have so they’re quick and easy to pull out and nothing goes missing =)

The second draw down basically has all manner of sewing related things, whilst the third draw has more general crafting based things. So whilst the second draw has buttons, zips, ribbons and a few fat quarters in, the third has tapes of all kinds, paper, other helpful bits and pieces, as well as any small non-cosplay projects. For example, there’s some cross stitch and crocheting for me to tackle one day!

The last draw is undoubtedly the heaviest, and yet for some reason used to build the top draw. I don’t know why I ever thought there was any logic in that. This houses most of tools. Scissors, dremmel, hot glue gun, pieces for my overlooked and other things of that ilk. It’s the draw I go to less often, so sadly for it, deserve it’s spot on the bottom.

And that is how I now organise the vast majority of my sewing supplies! Fabric and paints are kept elsewhere, purely because of a lack of space. I’m hoping that now there’s an order to it all, I be more inclined to keep it that way forever =)

How do you store your supplies? Is there any planning behind it or do things just live wherever they live? (Don’t worry, we’ve all been there ;))

Leave a Reply

