EGX 2014 Video!

Today I’m sharing with you what my steadicam at EGX London managed to produce for me. I still definitely need a lot of practice, plus I didn’t get that much footage. I tried to make the best with what I had and I think I’ve managed to pull it off. There’s one clip I’m especially proud of out of all of them, I wonder if you can tell which?

I quite enjoy taking a view of cosplay from the other side of the lens, and going further in doing videography as well is just another way of expressing creativity I think. You can never have too many outlets for it. At the moment I’m finding it more tricky than photography, since I don’t have the steadiest of hands. Obviously the steadicam goes a long way to helping this, but it’s not perfect. Perhaps just with more practice I can get it so.

Not only that, but I tend to be a bit shy and/or awkward when asking people if I can take photos or a video. So I often end up with mostly photos/videos of my friends and even then I don’t get quite as much footage as I would like. Hopefully, at MCM Expo in October, I can kick this habit of mine. I’m always surprised by the amount of footage I do get – I reckon I have about 30 seconds, but it’s actually 4 or 5 minutes, which when cut down makes about 3 minutes of useable footage. I’d love to be able to actually pick and choose which clips I chose though, since at the moment I end up using everything I have that’s half-decent =p So asking more people for video shots will give me more clips to work on. I’d still try to include everyone, but it would mean if I had a slightly wobbley shot that I wasn’t that proud of, that I wouldn’t have to use it.

Anyway, enough of the ramblings, enjoy the video =)

Leave a Reply

